Actresses of the 50s and 60s

Jill Townsend

In 1945, American on January 31, 2017 at 9:55 am

1945-jill-townsend-and-nicol-williamson

Jill Townsend (born 1945). She quit acting to work in journalism and education then as a spiritual counsellor. Born in Santa Monica, California, Jill lives with third husband Bob in Los Angeles and has a son, Luke, from her marriage to actor Nicol Williamson. “I got hooked on acting as a child when I saw Peter Pan. My English teacher recommended I apply to RADA and I was so excited to be accepted. I arrived in England in 1963. My stage debut was in John Osborne’s Inadmissible Evidence, where I played Nicol Williamson’s daughter. I’m so pleased people enjoyed Poldark, which became must-see TV every Sunday night, and I was surprised by its popularity. The cast were wonderfully supportive during a very difficult time, when I was going through my divorce to Nicol.  I travelled to Egypt to make The Awakening (1980) with Charlton Heston. I remember being at the top of this pyramid at 4am so they could get a shot with the sun coming up and, as it did, I looked around and asked myself, ‘Why am I doing this?’Express UK.

Leave a Reply

