Actresses of the 50s and 60s

Claudia Cardinale

In 1938, Italian on August 11, 2017 at 8:23 am

As a teenager I was wild, a bit crazy, a tomboy, I got into fistfights with boys just to show them girls can be stronger than them. I have always accepted challenges. When I was young, I remember catching the train after it had pulled out, I used to run and jump on even though I was on the platform, perfectly in time for the departure, just to show I could do it. This attitude also helped me on set when I found myself the only woman surrounded by men, I wasn’t intimidated, I felt able to compete with them. My philosophy of life has always been: If you want, you can. You can’t be weak if you want to do this job, I have never even re-married [after her divorce from Franco Cristaldi in 1975] just to keep myself completely independent. Having said that, I don’t want people to judge me for the choices I’ve made in my personal life but judge me for my work. Italy Magazine 2011.

Leave a Reply

